Ahhh…back just in time for Aolol’s new branding strategy and short seller’s wet dream IPO.

So I’ve been involuntarily offline the last few days. I moved to a new place…a homey, rustic cabin on the water – just what I wanted (I’m so proud of this place – and so happy with it – I could spit). My Internet just got turned on this morning. Yipppeee!

I have 5 days of news and reader’s email to catch up on, and I haven’t checked AOL’s stock quote yet, but I have checked micwa’s latest comment on my blog, which lead me to this hilarious re-branding video of AOL’s (the rebranding is in effect as of today). If the first five seconds of it don’t send you hurtling off your chair laughing, nothing will, and the rest of it is pretty funny, too.

Aol.- like a fish out of water

Just for my readers (I love you all!), the night before I moved, I made a logo to show my strong commitment to AOL’s new branding strategy. Enjoy. 😉

10 thoughts on “Ahhh…back just in time for Aolol’s new branding strategy and short seller’s wet dream IPO.

  1. Thanks, it is, but actually, moving here was a bit hair-raising: until today there was no phone, no internets, our cell phones didn’t work (at least not until we switched carriers) and there’s no, um, grocery stores, malls, Walmarts, or anything else normal around here. Did I mention it’s in the middle of nowhere (but just 15-20 minutes away from town)? I wanted to move far enough away from everyone I know that no one could just “pop over” to visit, and by golly, I think I got it. The cabin is fantastic: all the appliances are brand-new, it stays perfectly cool and warm owing to new central heat-cooling units, it’s right on the…did I mention, it’s right on the water?, with a huge back yard, a huge front yard, a boat, and um, alligators and water mocs….ah, yes, the wildlife. 🙂

    Like

  2. I just don’t understand it….
    I just love how the AOL employees couldn’t wait to dish Time Warner—and I mean didn’t even give it a day, as shown in this blog post by the AOL Mail (err Aol Mail.) team. A snippet of the first paragraph of this LOLtastic post for your viewing pleasure:
    “A new day dawns here at AOL. As you may or may not know, today AOL again became an independent company. We couldn’t be more excited as this provides us, the Mail team, an opportunity to get back to our roots.
    It is fair to say that some of the changes made to AOL Mail in the past didn’t always have our users’ best interests top of mind. No more. That stopped yesterday.”
    I just don’t understand this new look, at all. All the HIDEOUS logos, and what kind of video was THAT? What market is Aol. aimed at? All I know is the older people are using it, not teens. :-\
    Signed,
    very confused reader

    Like

  3. Stupid AOL doesn’t let you link to individual comments on their hideous Mail blog, but after you told me what they wrote, I made comment #131 (itcouldntb @ 10:29PM) in response. I’d just cut and paste it but then I’d get, like, a duplicate-content penalty from Google, which I can’t really afford. They’re getting eaten alive by their subscribers in those comments. It’s the most fun I’ve had reading the Mail blog since they printed a similar bunch of self-congratulatory arrogance about themselves last Halloween – remember that? That topped out at over 500 comments from enraged users – this one is at less than 200 – I think owing to all the subscriber losses between then and now – about 2 million cancels, if memory serves me correctly, just in the last twelve months. Which reminds me: it’s on. Tim Armstrong’s walkin’ around saying now he thinks subscriber losses might level off in the next few years? Uh-uh. No way. Not havin’ it.

    Like

  4. Great comment per usual (for reference, it’s #134). I see marcelbmbecker didn’t have any thing to say about that. How long will it be before Marcel is on the lay off list? I mean really….

    Like

  5. Re: Tuna – That Is a Goldfish
    Alley Insider featured this and a few other new AOL logos in a slide show of theirs about a week ago, with the caption, “At least the goldfish is facing the right way”. I wrote in the comments, “Not for long!” That was my whole inspiration – I knew no one else would turn it into a dead fish… 🙂
    The idea was to make it the new logo for this blog, but I tried it with the red style, with this style, with a green style I made and with a few others, and it didn’t look good. AOL has so many new logos I can screw with, though, that I’m sure I’ll come up with something.

    Like

  6. Pingback: AOL layoffs, restructuring costs, and those loan repayments….oh my. « Anti-AOL -An InTooLate Production

Leave a Reply

