10 thoughts on “Hacker Deal Alert: Hacked free AOL accounts that are yours to keep – FOREVER!

  1. lol
    Hey lol. Thanks for posting this…but its Randolph, not Craigs List. I made a seperate email for CL and emailed you from it.
    Thanks again.

    Like

  2. It is a free account
    I could understand Randolph’s ire and frustration if he paid for the service. He doesn’t and should expect that service from AOL will be below what it might normally be, which is not good. In this case he is getting what he paid for.

    Like

  3. Re: It is a free account – Hi, I am John Walsh in disguise.
    So if his account is hacked and he can’t reclaim it even after he provides more than sufficient proof of ownership, you think that’s alright because after all he no longer pays for the account? By your reckoning, if your car note is canceled tomorrow by your financing company who says, “Never mind, buddy, the last $3k is on us”, if the car gets stolen the day after that you should have no legal right to repossess it. After all, you’re not paying for it anymore, right?
    I wish there were better laws regarding cyber-crime. This is a cyber-crime. This cyber-crime in particular highlights why there ought to be better laws to protect us from the criminals who perpetuate them:
    1) A robbery was performed by a hacker or social engineer of some sort – this could be a friend or family member – who hacked into his account and stole the “keys” to it, so to speak
    2) The company that gave him his account and “canceled the note” on it, so to speak – AOL – refuses to recognize his still-legal right to possess the account
    3) No one cares. In the meantime this user has lost more than mere control over his AOL account but everything connected to it and everything that can be gleaned from it: His bank account information, his street address and phone number, his credit account numbers, and personal – in fact, very private information – about himself, his friends and his family members.
    It’s like having your home robbed – in fact, it’s the online version of the same exact crime – and yet no one, not even flea-brains like you, gives a damn.

    Like

  4. Problem with aim.com email
    I have not been able to log onto my aim.com email account since last Monday, 12/14/09. I know my username is valid because I can’t create an AIM account with that name (already taken). I’ve spent many hours trying to resolve the problem. Every path leads back to AOL. And that boils down to: “We can’t access AIM accounts.” “Who can?” “Go to the aim.com help page.” Tried everything there, and I always end up back on an AOL page.
    Yes, seems like I’ve lost all my years of mail, contacts, etc…
    Like there’s nobody alive who can access the AIM server!!
    Please.

    Like

  5. Re: Problem with aim.com email
    Have you tried signing into aol.com (not aim.com) with your AIM screen name to get your email? If you originally signed up for AOL and you checked the box on the sign-up form saying that you want your AIM name “converted” into an AOL screen name (which simply ensures it works on both aim.com and aol.com), you should be able to sign into AOL.com to get your email with no problem.
    I have no concrete answer as to why your AIM name stopped working on aim.com. The only possible things I can think of are that a) you got TOSed, but for some reason, you were never informed of that, or b) your account was de-activated for either inactivity (you haven’t signed into AIM or AOL for at least 4-6 weeks) or suspicious activity (someone claimed your account was used to hack other accounts, or claimed that it got hacked).
    If you want, you can call AOL’s Fraud Dept. and tell them you suspect your AIM account was hacked. That might be the only way to get a living, breathing human to work with you on it. The number is 1-800-307-7969. But if you call this number and your unusable AIM account is not yet deactivated, expect it to be de-activated once you call them. In other words, this might not be the best answer for you.
    I have no way to direct you to anyone who knows more than I do. I have tried to get information about AIM myself from AOL’s call representatives, but they cannot give it to me because, in their own words, they are not “trained” to answer questions about AIM. Most of what they will tell you about AIM, which is very little, since they are not trained to discuss it, is incorrect, in my experience.
    If I were you, I would post your problem again on Yedda.com (AOL owns the website, while I “work” independently of AOL). Yedda is the one place on the Web that I know of where the AOL Mail team is quite active involved and tries to answer every question they can (not that they always do, but I see more activity from them on Yedda than I do elsewhere). The link for you to ask your question is here:
    http://yedda.com/questions/new/?editNew
    Be sure to “tag” your Yedda question with the name “AOL” so it will show up at the following web address after you post it:
    http://yedda.com/questions/tags/aol/

    Like

  6. AOL Hacked Account
    I am in the middle of this same nightmare with my husband’s AOL account…which he made in 1996. There’s no way we can get the debit card that we last used to pay for AOL service 3-4 years ago and the fraud dept idiots are taking great pleasure in that. What a bunch of brainless twats. Why can’t they send something to my address on record with a temporary new password or something? My husband’s screen name was/is the “Master Account” for my 3 kids’ accounts and mine. God knows why we’ve even stayed with AOL this long. Ugh. I gave up during my latest pointless phone call today. I just give up.

    Like

  7. Re: AOL Hacked Account
    AOL doesn’t need the debit card number, just the last four digits of it, to confirm billing. But in all reality, they don’t “need” those numbers at all.
    At some point after you’ve sufficiently established your identity in other ways (or, at least, offered to) AOL insisting on the last four on the old card becomes no more than harassment designed to prevent you from retaking control of your account and/or canceling it. I think this a heinous practice, and it’s one I’d like to see stopped.
    There’s no law that says you must provide AOL with debit or credit card information to confirm you own an AOL account; it’s simply AOL’s standard practice to ask their paying customers for that information (that also means, if you canceled payment of AOL and converted your screen name to a free account, they have no damn right to ask you for any credit or debit card information at all).
    Thus, if anyone was to fight them for insisting upon that information to confirm account identity, from a legal standpoint, that person would almost certainly win.
    You could always take the matter up with your State Attorney General (if AOL is continuing to bill you for, but lock you out of the account, I would), and the BBB.
    List of Attorney General offices in all 50 states:
    http://www.naag.org/current-attorneys-general.php
    File an online complaint with the BBB (more info on that here):
    https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/getstarted.aspx
    Good luck, and please let me know how it turns out – you can either leave a new comment here or email me (my email address is in the sidebar under the “Write to me” heading).

    Like

  8. Re: AOL Hacked Account
    F*ck AOL. I just went through the same process. “Community Actions Team” = the place they send you to die. They have no email…and no phone number to contact.

    Like

  9. Re: AOL Hacked Account
    If it’s any consolation, they never did have a phone number, not as far as I know. It’s mostly Keyword-powered (you click the appropriate Keyword, a Notify AOL form pops up) or you can try emailing the CAT team at TOSEmail1@aol.com (but only people who !still use AOL 6.0 or 7.0 are supposed to send email to that address, and even then, it’s supposedly used strictly to forward spam to the CAT Team).
    You can also try reporting other members with the online Notify AOL form:
    https://bill.aol.com/SPortal/jsp/notify_screen_name.jsp
    You can also try asking about TOS violations with this other online form (supposedly you get an emailed response back – if so, if anyone could give me the email address that the CAT Team uses, I’d appreciate it):
    https://bill.aol.com/SPortal/jsp/notify_ask.jsp

    Like

Leave a Reply

