Welcome! You’ve got PHISH!

Watch out, AOL users. If you see this in your inbox – like I did tonight – then you’ve got Phish. Symptoms of Phish are as follows:

  1. You have an irrepressible urge to click on real-looking links to AOL
  2. You think this phisher’s email is so convincing
  3. You can’t understand why the fine folks at AOL, a multi-billion dollar company, misspell words, mangle grammar and forget to punctuate

Phisher's email

That last item is your cue to RUN as far away from your email as possible until the urge to click on links passes.

I hate AOL but that won’t stop me from giving you a a few tips to help you stay sane:

  1. AOL will never email you to ask you to update your billing information.
  2. No one at AOL will ever ask for your password.
  3. Emails from legitimate companies with misspellings, grammar and punctuation errors are NEVER legitimate emails.
  4. If you’re not convinced, make sure your browser’s status bar is enabled and hover over the links within the email, then look at your status bar. You will see that the links point to other websites, NOT to aol.com.
  5. WARNING: Sometimes phishers use fancy Javascript in their email to make it look as though links point to AOL – but it’s a trick. If any of the above facts apply to the email you are reading, do not click on the links.

I have my suspicions that the phisher’s email was sent to me because I run Anti-AOL. I get all kinds of pranks via my inbox because of this blog. I just roll with it. In fact, I’m turning my victimization into a public service announcement tonight to help millions of other people, which is pretty darn nice of me.

Related Material: How to Protect Yourself From Phishers and Other Attackers