I’m in love…with an uninstaller.

I cannot believe this thing. Seriously, I’m in awe. I’ve been eying it for months but never touched it because I wasn’t using Vista when I found it. And it’s just a simple, lowly batch script. Haven’t had much luck with those in the past!

Ran it just now and words can’t even do it justice – or maybe they can – let’s see: it bypasses AOL’s uninstaller entirely (except for one brief stop at the AOL Toolbar Uninstaller), removes almost every AOL reg entry (just 12 entries left afterward), and requires just one restart no matter how many AOL programs you’ve got installed. And it’s quick! Naturally I want to marry whoever wrote it – or at least reincarnate as him in my next life.

Vista users: try it. XP users: don’t. It only works on Vista, at least as far as I can tell.

You may get a few “cannot find uninstall.exe” warnings. Just click through them and the UA warnings (if UAC is enabled on your PC) – I promise, you won’t be sorry.

5-22-08, Update: This product made my Honorable Mention list as one of the three Greatest AOL Removal Products of All Time.

5 thoughts on “I’m in love…with an uninstaller.

  1. I really need help-not a good computer user-took computer from home-middle of ugly divorce-he is administrater on computer/aol stuff, i tried to update aol and he is now accusing me of hacking into his e-mail so i thought i would just take aol off-will i hurt the rest of my computer-i am hooked up to time warner for my internet. there is still a bunch of stuff on here but i have deleted a bunch tx redhedkat@yahoo.com

    Like

  2. BEWARE !!!!!! THIS IS A TROJAN !!!!! I TRIED TO DOWN LOAD IT FROM THE RAPIDSHARE AND MY AV ZAPPED IT LIKE A BUG AND SAID IT WAS A TROJAN

    Like

  3. Really? Which antivirus zapped it like a bug and said it was a Trojan?
    Because after reading your comment I downloaded it from RapidShare and ran it on my new Win 7 install, which would surely be folly if I already knew it contained a trojan. Amazingly, I tested this tool on my Win XP and Win Vista installs (I was dual-booting them at the time) before I even wrote this post (I would not have had anything to write about if I had not tested it first), and of course there was no trojan. I just took about 10 screen shots of it and of the processes running in Task Manager while it was running that I can post in my LJ photo album for you if you really want to all get technical and “prove it” with me or you could just take my word for it: your AV sucks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

