When No News Isn’t Good News

When no news isn't good news

I haven’t been pounding out updates lately but I’m too busy to write (and too tired when I’m not too busy) so I probably won’t match the pace of what I kicked out during January again. For a while I thought I’d turn the site into an updated news-blog but there isn’t enough going on to make it worthwhile. In fact some of the latest news just bores me to death and I can’t write when I’m bored.

Take the TradeDoubler deal. It’s AOL purchasing ad.com all over again, only the European version of it…who cares? The only real news here is AOL stole so much money from canceling subscribers over the years that they can’t figure out how to spend all of it so they blew it on a huge Christmas party, a stupid-looking sculpture, technology for the Haier Hard Drive, and $900 million for TradeDoubler, a Bubble 2.0 deal that might or might not close by February 28th because some shareholders think TD’s worth more than that. Watch me cry great big crocodile tears when AOL loses out on it. Not. BTW, the Anti-AOL Network covered the story if you really want it. I couldn’t really muster up enough energy about TradeDoubler to give a damn.

In other news, the accounting fraud trial went into a second day of jury deliberations last Friday, but there’s nothing on the wires about it now and it’s a toss-up whether or not anyone’s found guilty. I say they walk because no AOL exec has ever been put away for financial misdeeds (but at least a few of them should be, IMO). It’d be nice to see it end in an Enron sort of way, complete with Randy Falco having a heart attack over the whole thing, but I’m not holding my breath.

In the meantime I have projects going on to get back to my site’s roots: consumer advocacy. No one seems to know why I have this site (except Jason Calacanis, who really gets it) so let me explain. I started writing about AOL to fulfill a promise I made to a call center supervisor 13 months ago and I don’t intend to stop. I was infuriated at what I had to go through to cancel AOL, shocked at how hard it is to uninstall and outraged at their dishonest call center tactics, but I kept writing after I was tempted to delete the whole thing last January (just one month into it!) after it hit me I could explain to others why AOL is hard on your wallet, your computer, and inadequate for surfing the Web. Once that idea hit me it snowballed. I learned the hottest searches for AOL focus on how to cancel it, how to uninstall it, and how to file a complaint against AOL for over-billing, information that in all cases they keep very rare.

Update: The AOL/Purchase Pro trial ended in acquittals shortly after I wrote this article. According to an article I just read in the Washington Times, “All three defendants wept with relief.” I’d cry too if I got to walk away from federal prison time for what they were accused of, plus now they get to see their charges expunged like the fraud never happened. I hate to sound bitter, (edit…no I don’t) but what a crock of shit.