Timeline for “There’s ONE page AOL.com hopes you’ll ever find.”

  • Early March 8, 2006: I publish the URL to AOL’s Cancel My Account page on Dave Taylor’s site and in a forum at the ISP Guide.
  • March 10: AOL deletes the “Cancel My Account” page from this URL.
  • March 10: I find another URL for the page and post it to my site.
  • March 11: AOL deletes the “Cancel My Account” page from this URL.
  • March 11-13: I search AOL.com, Google and major search engines without luck for another URL to the “Cancel My Account” page.
  • March 14: Unable to find it, I search websites and find another URL for the “Cancel My Account” page. The URL worked for over three years so I post it on my site.
  • March 15: AOL deletes the “Cancel My Account” page from this URL and re-writes it as a Help Index.
  • March 16, 17, or 18: AOL’s site search engine, the Answer Wizard is down most of the week in question. I don’t have records for the exact moment, but on one of these days the Answer Wizard works again. I find another URL for the “Cancel My Account” page, and mirror it on my site so I can stop seeking new links.
  • March 8-17: I learn AOL no longer maintains the Keyword “Cancel” at their A-Z Keywords List.

One thought on “Timeline for “There’s ONE page AOL.com hopes you’ll ever find.”

  1. Pingback: There’s ONE page AOL.com hopes you’ll never find. « Anti-AOL -An InTooLate Production

Comments are closed.